What Are the 7 Stages of Lewy Body Dementia?

An older adult woman having trouble sleeping, an early sign of dementia.

Share This

Lewy Body Dementia (LBD) is a progressive and degenerative neurological disorder that affects the brain. It is the second most common form of dementia after Alzheimer’s disease, and it is estimated to affect approximately 1.4 million people in the United States alone.

While there are different types of LBD, including dementia with Lewy Bodies (DLB) and Parkinson’s disease dementia (PDD), the progression of symptoms in LBD generally follows seven stages. These stages are not set in stone and may vary from person to person, but they can provide a general understanding of how the disease progresses. 

The seven stages of LBD are as follows:

  • Stage 1: Early Symptoms
  • Stage 2: Mild Cognitive Decline
  • Stage 3: Moderate Cognitive Decline
  • Stage 4: Severe Cognitive Decline
  • Stage 5: Advanced Dementia
  • Stage 6: Severe Dementia 
  • Stage 7: End-Stage or Terminal Dementia

Early Symptoms (Stage 1)

In the early stages of LBD, the symptoms may be subtle and easily dismissed as normal signs of aging. However, these symptoms are important to recognize as they can help with an earlier diagnosis and treatment. Some common early symptoms include:

  • Memory loss
  • Difficulty with concentration and problem-solving
  • Changes in mood or behavior 
  • Confusion or disorientation 
  • Trouble sleeping

Mild Cognitive Decline (Stage 2)

An older adult woman looking confused and anxious while staring at a distance.

As the disease progresses, these early symptoms may become more noticeable and begin to interfere with daily activities. This stage is characterized by mild cognitive decline, which can include:

  • Difficulty with planning and organizing tasks
  • Increased memory loss
  • Trouble finding words or communicating thoughts 
  • Changes in behavior, such as increased agitation or anxiety

Moderate Cognitive Decline (Stage 3)

At this stage, the symptoms of LBD become more pronounced and can significantly impact daily functioning. Some common symptoms during this stage include:

  • Difficulty with problem-solving and decision-making 
  • Confusion or disorientation to time and place
  • Trouble completing routine tasks 
  • Delusions or hallucinations 

Severe Cognitive Decline (Stage 4)

As the disease progresses, individuals with LBD may experience severe cognitive decline, making it difficult to perform even simple tasks. Some common symptoms during this stage include:

  • Severe memory loss 
  • Difficulty recognizing loved ones
  • Increased confusion and disorientation 
  • Inability to communicate effectively 

Advanced Dementia (Stage 5)

In this advanced stage, individuals with LBD may require round-the-clock care and support. Some common symptoms during this stage include:

  • Inability to speak or communicate 
  • Loss of motor skills 
  • Difficulty swallowing 
  • Severe hallucinations or delusions

Severe Dementia (Stage 6)

In the final stage of LBD, individuals may experience severe dementia and require full-time care. Some common symptoms during this stage include:

  • Inability to recognize familiar objects or people
  • Loss of physical abilities 
  • Increased vulnerability to infections and illnesses 
  • Difficulty eating or swallowing 

End-stage or Terminal Dementia (Stage 7)

As the disease reaches its final stages, individuals with LBD may become bedridden and require hospice care. Some common symptoms during this stage include:

  • Severe physical impairment 
  • Inability to communicate or respond 
  • Increased vulnerability to infections and illnesses 
  • Difficulty eating or swallowing

Additional Information About LBD Stages

It is important to note that not all individuals will experience the same progression of symptoms and stages of LBD. Some may skip certain stages or experience them differently. Additionally, the duration of each stage can vary greatly from person to person.

Furthermore, individuals with LBD may experience periods of stability or even improvement in their symptoms before progressing to the next stage. This can be due to various factors such as medication management, lifestyle changes, and supportive care.

Benefits of Memory Care for Individuals with LBD

Due to the progressive nature of LBD, individuals need to receive specialized care as their condition advances. Memory care communities specifically cater to the needs of individuals with dementia and provide a safe and supportive environment.

Some benefits of memory care for individuals with LBD include:

  • 24/7 monitoring and support 
  • Structured daily routines and activities 
  • Trained staff who understand the unique needs of individuals with dementia 
  • Safe living environment to prevent accidents and disorientation 
  • Assistance with tasks such as eating, bathing, and medication management

Specialized Memory Care at Juniper

Understanding the different stages of LBD and its associated symptoms can help prepare for the changes that may occur. Seeking support from healthcare professionals and considering memory care options can also greatly benefit individuals with LBD and their families. 

At Juniper Village at South Hills, our memory care program is specifically designed to meet the unique needs of individuals with LBD and provide a comfortable and supportive environment for them. Our compassionate staff are dedicated to providing personalized care for each resident, taking into account their individual needs and preferences. To learn more about our memory care program and how we can support you or your loved one with LBD, contact us or schedule a tour of our community.

Share This

Leave a comment